Wednesdays Mean: THINGS I SENT TO MEREDITH

March 4, 2009 § 4 Comments

I’m still trying to design a cute “button/banner” for this feature, because it really is something that sums up the majority of my downtime.  Meredith is my best friend, but she doesn’t have the common sense to live close to me.  Instead, she lives next door to Great America, which, as a child, must have been like Christmas every day.  That’s not the point.  The point is that outside the occasional Scrapmania! at Archivers and our traditional festive DIP DINNER*, we really don’t see each other too often.  Our friendship is not unlike the closeness of 1950s penpals, but without the “Hi, How are you? I am fine.” preamble each morning.  On a good day, we email each other around fifty times.  Lest you wonder how we get any work done, I should tell you she’s unemployed and I’m lazy, but the emails are usually nothing more than a link, an attached picture and an exclamation like “WHAT!? OMG! CUTE! HOLY COW! DED FROM CUTE! SOMEBODY PINCH ME!  BUY THIS AND FAX IT TO MY OFFICE BY FIVE.” 

We are faithful followers of Cute Overload and I Can Has Cheezburger just like the rest of the world,

but on a less known level, we also giggle over Lovely Listing , a blog featuring poorly chosen real estate listing photos and the unchallenged champion of funny: Cake Wrecks, pictures of real, honest to god, PROFESSIONALLY DECORATED CAKES that look like they were made by the Differently Abled Clown that works part time at Ground Round**. 

Anyway, we also spend a lot of our time shopping the blogs, shopping etsy, looking at magazine sites…and the things we find renew our faith in the world.  The first thing that cracked me up yesterday was this picture in WiseCraft:

 In this post, her kids were doing a Mary Tyler Mooresque newscast updating the nation on the tragedies unfolding at the forefront of the Bionicle/Agent Wars.  I love FOREVER, reading what little kids will write, and how they’ll spell it, left to their own devices. 

I am also CRAZY IN LOVE with Lollychops, and her Butterfly Project, well, I mean AY YI YI, I wanted to call in sick and go home and MAKE ART!

 

And finally, the blog that inspired my most recent embroidery/sewing/felting/stitching project, CheckoutGirl’s little neighborhood hoop. 
I so love the folksy simplicity of these houses, made more ‘whimsical’ by their bright colors.  I decided to do a hoop of my own, but with just one house and a Home Sweet Home banner over the top of it.  You’ll love it, I’ll show you when I’m done.  I also love her etsy shop where she’ll whip up a little dream house of your own, to your specifications!  Cute as a button. 
So that’s just a drib and drab, the TIP of the iceberg of stuff I’ve sent to Meredith this week.  Tune in next Wednesday for more internet finds!
*Dip Dinner began with my birthday a few years ago when some of the girls and I got together and had a large cake shaped like a breast and an assortment of dips.  DIP is where it’s at, if you ask me.  I think the world needs more dip,and dip should be an acceptable dinner choice.
**Someday, when I’m in a good mood, and not prone to tearing up, you’ll hear the tale of the Differently Abled Clown that worked part time at the Ground Round and decorated a cake for my sister’s birthday.  I’m crying right now thinking of that guy…so it’ll have to be another time.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Wednesdays Mean: THINGS I SENT TO MEREDITH

  • Meredith says:

    OH MAN!!! I cannot WAIT to see that house hoop thingy!!! DO IT. HURRY.

    I like this. I’d like to be a regular feature, please. Complete with complements regarding my wit. And attractiveness.

    Dip Dinner is the reason I breathe.

  • donkeyinawhitecoat says:

    Next time we have dip dinner, I demand regular ol’ lipton onion soup dip with real salty potato chips…..drooool

  • kcalland says:

    Okay, I already knew that I Can Has Cheezburger was awesome. But the cakes and the real estate photos … hysterical! Thanks for sharing.

    I try to avoid Etsy … because I would become addicted and spend all of our money on awesome stuff.

  • Well, I for one can’t wait to see what you made!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wednesdays Mean: THINGS I SENT TO MEREDITH at Just A Little Donkey in A Warm White Coat.

meta

