Things I Sent To Meredith: The Bored Stiff At Work Edition

March 18, 2009 § 4 Comments

meredithbutton

I am such a sucker for giveaways.  Every blog I subscribe to (like…I’m not kidding, around fifty) has a giveaway every once in a while and I always get my hopes up about winning a cute softie, a yard of fabric or cripes, just a note that says “YOU WON SOMETHING”.  I think you know where this is going:  i’ve never won.  I mean jeez. Even with scratch off tickets you win 2.00 bucks every once in a while.  In fact, I’m considering (once readership is more steady and enormous, say 40,000,000 hits a day) hosting a giveaway open ONLY TO PEOPLE LIKE ME WHO HAVE NEVER WON A GIVEAWAY. TAKE THAT.  But anyway, the point is Happily Handmade is a site you should look at and bookmark as they begin the gathering stages of a gigundous giveaway worth thousands of dollars in handmade goods that we all love.  I’m salivating at the thought of receiving a big big big box of funsies.

I’m also salivating about these Blue Birds  by Casalinga.  They were featured in the April issue of Country Living and I seriously GASPED when I saw them.  There’s a chance that we’re moving this year, to our very own “forever and ever home” and when I saw these birds I could picture them in the front foyer, welcoming guests with the blue birds of happiness.  They come in some other colors (the white is really beautiful) but I’m all about this sort of muted french blue. 

When I was a kid, I was hardcore into fan clubs.  I was a member of the Archie Fan club, complete with t-shirt, but I never received my membership card, and really, if you don’t have that WHAT IS THE POINT?  Membership cards are the reason clubs are cool.  That’s why you need to march on over to Bring Pluto Back and print out your membership card while voicing your opinion on the gross unfairness perpetrated on Pluto, the little planet who never did nothin’ to nobody but got demoted anyway.  Oh, it’s for kids?  Yeah, I mean, yeah.  I know that. pfft.

pluto

I’m one of those people who’s really into the “mental picture” of things.  I love tradition and nostalgia and the “staging” of every day events.  Like, baking is more fun if you’re using a heavy yellow ceramic bowl and wooden spoon, and your hair is tied back in a scarf and you have a litte smudge of flour on your face.  Right?  Because that’s what “BAKING” means to me.  That’s why I hate writing on a computer.  When I was in junior high, I had a TYPE WRITER.  An electric typewriter, sure, but that ‘clacky clack clack’ and “zhhzhip DING!” of the return key really made me feel like I was writing a best seller when really I was writing an epic tale of a devious missionary who looked suspiciously like David Gahan of Depeche Mode.  Fanfic:  I was there before it was cool.

Anyway, that’s why I want this Antique Remington Typewriter from Ladies and Gentlemen

remington

I can only imagine the look of pure joy on my husband’s face when I started clacking away on this typewriter at 7:00 in the morning on a Saturday, mug of coffee, sheaf of paper, pencils sharpened and sticking out of my hair (because that’s what frazzled writers look like).

Speaking of that, I finally started writing again this week.  For those just joining the blog, I’m dealing with some hardcore life issues of losing my passion for writing.  I’ve been trying to publish my novel for years, papering the walls with rejection letters, and for the past six months I’ve just…stopped writing.  I had no ambition, no desire, no drive to write.  For some reason though, on Monday I picked up pen and paper again (long hand is better than computer) and slowly, slowly…the joy is coming back.  Could it be because of Spring?  Perhaps.  We’ll see what comes of the measly three pages I’ve completed. 

Tomorrow I give you a hilarious peek into “Sewing Failures” as I bravely post a picture of a chair cushion I made last night that was grossy mismeasured and the seams look like I did them while in the midst of a grand mal seizure.  But in the interest of fairness, I must show you te crafting FAILS as well as the WINS.  Live and learn.

Right Pluto?

I thought so.

Tagged:

§ 4 Responses to Things I Sent To Meredith: The Bored Stiff At Work Edition

  • Meredith says:

    I just literally (and I use the term ‘literally’ only when I mean “LITERALLY”) pumped my fists in the sky and Wahooed that you put pen to paper this week! AWESOME.

    Also: when you showed me those birds I thought they were like… earring size. Not front hall greeting guests size. NOW I LOVE THEM EVEN MORE.

  • diane reid says:

    1. i have never won a blog giveaway either, so you are not alone. i frequently enter with such high hopes. my last entry was on ‘not martha’ for samples of the new instant starbucks coffee.

    2. i was once a proud member of the willy wonka fan club. i joined because it involved a membership kit (card included) and free candy.

    3. that typewriter makes me salivate. my mother had an old royal on which i wrote all of my high school papers. ah, the smell of carbon paper and correction strips.

  • Elysha says:

    Hey it’s rose__tinted from LJ.

    I totally agree with you about picturesque cooking/baking! When I do so, I put on my apron with pride and find greatt importance in finding the perfect bowl, spoon and tools to do the job. I’m glad I’m not the only one.

    Congrats on writing again 🙂 It must be the weather because I’m feeling quite inspired myself.

  • allison says:

    funny. i just read that country living,saw the birds, and gasped as well.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Things I Sent To Meredith: The Bored Stiff At Work Edition at Just A Little Donkey in A Warm White Coat.

meta

