Things I Sent To Meredith: The Not Things I Sent To Meredith Edition

April 8, 2009 § 4 Comments

My life is all askew this week.  I had a sick daughter over the weekend.  Is anything on this planet more pitiful than a normally vivacious two year old slumped over in your lap begging to go to bed?  She was so sad and so mucusy and even as I held her tight in my arms I knew:  I was going to get whatever she had.

So the crud hit me Saturday night.  I slammed the Nyquil and slept as much as I could but Sunday was a bear as well and I called in sick to work on Monday and slept almost fourteen hours.  I am not here to make excuses, simply to say that a little shakeup in the order of things is nothing to lose our heads about.  I’m feeling better, but instead of recipes and etsy links I thought I’d give you a sneak peek into some of my (cue reverberation) Works – In – Progress-s-s-s-s.

I’m a flitter.  Unless I’m on a full blown tangent where all I can do is draw birds with chalk or make friendship pins for your sneakers out of safety pins and beads, I like to have a couple of irons in the fire (curse you corporate jargon) so when I get bored or stuck or uninspired on one project I can put it out of my mind for a while.  Turns out everything I”m working on right now is embroidery/sewing related…so we can call this a ‘theme’ post if you will.

This is a corner of a little mixed media collage piece I’m doing.  It’s going to be embroidery, felt, paint, and possibly paper once I get it all together.  Of course it will feature my favorite motif: naked trees.

I think I made a critical error in doing the embroidery before the painting, but oh well…that’s art.  Sometimes it looks like a big pile of crap.  We’ll see.

I got sucked into the “first five people win a prize” meme on facebook, and I’m putting together what I think may be my first etsy product if it comes out cute enough.

I did a super close up of it because I do want it to be a surprise, but it combines embroidery, some patchwork, some aromatherapy and JUST A LITTLE DASH OF WHIMSY ::chortle knowingly::

And finally, my favorite, all for me, a little project that was going to be just a Home Sweet Home hoop to hang in my hallway. (Happy Hopping Holiday, Helen, Hey ho!).  But I think it may become a patch for a pillow or a little hanging quilt.

I love how the little flower details at the bottom are coming out so I want to do some more “gardening” around the base of the house.

I’m also pretty proud of my latest ebay acquisition.  After reading the April Martha Stewart Living article about decorating your house with Birds (something I’ve always loved.  I love old pictures of birds, bird patterns, figurines…) I went right on to ebay to look for some of those old white porcelain bird figurines that she had set up in clumps on a side table.  They looked so delicate and elegant and I KNEW I MUST MAKE THEM MINE (AT A COST OF LESS THAN 10.00)  So here’s what I won for 5.00 (7.00 with shipping)

I mean, WHAT?  It’s perfect!  About six inches high, I have this li’l gal perched among my picture frames on the hallway bookshelf.  I love her so much.  I’m sure she’s nothing “priceless” or “collectible”, she has no markings to indicate that she’s from a specific ceramics place…but I love her nonetheless.  Sigh.

Anyway, we will be back on track next week and I may have my very first tutorial ready! What? I know, it’s awesome.

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to Things I Sent To Meredith: The Not Things I Sent To Meredith Edition

  • Allison M says:

    spring crafting! i love it!

  • Meredith says:

    Art = Sometimes it’s a big pile of crap.

    So so so true. Yay for wips! I’m also currently working on my First 5 People crafts and you know what? They’re pretty cute, but WAY less ambitious than your whole situation here.

    That bird is BOSS.

  • Marlo says:

    I vote for a renaissance of the friendship pins on sneakers. I could whip those bad boys out like nobody’s business. Instead I have four half-started knitting projects and a bunch of jewelry making books & random bead assortments that have yet to be put to use.

    LOVE the Home Sweet Home project (especially those tiny flowers!) – show us again when it’s done?

  • I think anyone who is slightly creative flits from one thing to another… we can’t help it, we NEED to do it all! I want to design a Spoonflower fabric too, but like you that is buried deep in my ‘things I want to do’ pile!x

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Things I Sent To Meredith: The Not Things I Sent To Meredith Edition at Just A Little Donkey in A Warm White Coat.

meta

