Clay Ashtray Chronicles: I JUST WANT TO MAKE A PAPER FLOWER

April 29, 2009 § 2 Comments

My hot/cold, love/hate, Moonlighting type relationship with paper flowers started about a year ago.  It happened quite simply when I saw a “very simple tutorial” that involved nothing more than rolling up a piece of paper!  Before I even picked up the scissors I was making plans for giant garlands of these flowers, bouquets, headbands, shadowboxes, suppositories, load bearing walls made of EASY PAPER FLOWERS.  I mean hey, she says right in the tutorial to HAVE FUN.

 

Dozi's "fun" little flower that haunts me all my days

Dozi's "fun" little flower that haunts me all my days

 

 

Guess what?  It’s not fun.  It doesn’t work.  Don’t be fooled.  Don’t leave me a comment telling me you’ve done it because I’ll simply deem you a liar.  Don’t leave a comment telling me I’ve used the wrong paper because I’ve tried this with every weight of paper from tissue paper to origami paper, cardstock, copy paper, post its, gift wrap, construction paper, a small piece of the Magna Carta.  No.  No, I’m sorry.    When I follow her very easy instructions to “just roll up the paper until there’s no more left to roll” I get:  A PIECE OF ROLLED UP PAPER NOT UNLIKE A MINIATURE TOILET PAPER ROLL.  Oh yeah! Awesome! Yes, I’ll scatter these all over the house.

So after no less than twenty or thirty efforts, I gave up on the Dozi Rose, growling in resentment every time I see it featured in someone’s blog as a super easy paper flower!

In fact, for a while I abandoned paper flowers all together, assuming that God just hadn’t blessed me with that particular talent.  Then I was punched in the face by Eloise Corr Danch and her mind boggling beautiful work.

img_9054

 I mean, yes, it’s gorgeous.  I have no illusions of creating anything as lush and wonderful as her Macy’s Windows.  But let’s get a hold of ourselves, boil it down and realize it’s paper.  Paper cut into flower shapes and glued onto a thingee somehow.  I know flower shapes.  I know petals and stamens and pistols and leaves and tendrils and thingees.  I can draw them and cut them out.  I even know how to use floral tape.

Oh but wait!  Did you know that Paper Source sells a zillion different Paper Flower Kits?  It’s like a dream come true, if you’re some sort of billionaire heiress who finds 18.00 for paper and wire to be a reasonable price.  I went to the store, picked up the kit, looked at it, LOOKED AT THE EXACT SHAPES OF THE PETALS THEY HAD PRE CUT, and went confidently in the direction of my dreams.

I didn’t take pictures of my ‘experiments’ but I think I found an adequate summation of me, plus paper, plus scissors, plus ‘some pretty good ideas’:

paperflowersdestruction

I kicked everything off the bed, ate a bowl of ice cream and watched three episodes of Family Guy, declaring crafts stupid.  

The stars have aligned, the Lord has spoken.  No matter how much I would like to, no matter how many ‘pretty good ideas I have’, I am not supposed to make paper flowers.  The future of mankind depends on it.  I think I’ll start working on paper pesticides instead.

Tagged:

§ 2 Responses to Clay Ashtray Chronicles: I JUST WANT TO MAKE A PAPER FLOWER

  • Meredith says:

    OH LORD. THE SUPER EASY PAPER FLOWER.
    It is the bane of all existence!! I have decided that there is a blog conspiracy on these paper flowers and that some evil group is commenting on various craft blogs to say how easy it was and the designed their sister/friend/mother’s entire wedding out of them. JERKS.

    I mean, I love crafts and all but… I’m pretty sure God wants us to just love regular flowers.

  • Marlo says:

    Kudos to you for trying. The best I can do are the big flowers out of tissue paper squares with the pipe cleaner stems. And they still look the same (for better or for worse) as they did when I made them at age nine.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Clay Ashtray Chronicles: I JUST WANT TO MAKE A PAPER FLOWER at Just A Little Donkey in A Warm White Coat.

meta

